Boards of RWI

Legal Status

The institute has the legal status of a registered association. Firms, as well as public bodies can be members of the association; the same applies for social and economic organisations that are interested in the institute's objectives. Members pay an annual subscription fee, the amount of which is self-determined, however the minimum amount is agreed on by the general meeting every year and currently lies at 1300 Euros. Membership subscriptions are the grants for non-profit-making objectives in order to promote research.

The statutory organs of the associations are:

The Scientific Advisory Board serves as advisor.

General Meeting

The General Meeting has the following tasks:

  • Acceptance of the annual report of the Executive Board
  • Resolution on the annual budget, exoneration of the Supervisory Board and the Executive Board
  • Voting in members of the Supervisory Board as well as the auditor
  • Acceptance of any amendments to the articles of association, as well as to dissolution of the association.


Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board should consist of a minimum of 11 people and a maximum of 16, who are preferably to be voted from within the circle of members and who are able to perceive the institute's interests and to promote it.


  • Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff (Chair)
  • Manfred Breuer, Essen (Deputy Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Buch (Deputy Chair)
  • Reinhold Schulte, Dortmund (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr. Stefan Dietzfelbinger, Duisburg
  • Knut Giesler, Düsseldorf
  • Dr. Dirk Günnewig, Düsseldorf
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Jörg Hennecke, Düsseldorf
  • Ronald Janßen-Timmen, Essen
  • Dr. Thomas A. Lange, Essen
  • Dr.-Ing. Herbert Lütkestratkötter, Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Peus, München
  • Dr. Stefan Profit, Berlin
  • Helmut Schiffer, Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Schölmerich, Bochum
  • Dr. Martin Sonnenschein, Berlin

Scientific Advisory Board

In order to provide the institute with scientific advice a Scientific Advisory Board was formed. It consists of a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 12 internationally respected external scientists or experts in the institute's fields of research. Members may also be based abroad. The committee has the following tasks:

  • Scientific accompaniment, consultation and evaluation of the institute's work
  • Evaluation of the institute's research programme
  • Report on the evaluation in view of the Executive Board
  • Promote the work of the institute.


  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider, Bergische Universität Wuppertal (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Nadine Riedel, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (Vice Chairwoman)
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriel Ahlfeldt, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)
  • Prof. Dr. Thiess Büttner, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Prof. Dr. Isabel Günther, ETH Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz, Technische Universität Wien
  • Prof. Timothy W. Guinnane, Ph.D., Universität Yale
  • Prof. Dr. Philip Jung, TU Dortmund
  • Prof. Dr. Krisztina Kis-Katos, Universität Göttingen
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Quaas, Universität Leipzig/Deutsches Zentrum für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv)
  • Prof. Dr. Conny Wunsch, Universität Basel

» Detailed information on the respective members can be found here.

The Institute


For further information please contact Marianna Schmaus (Legal adviser to the Board of Directors)
Tel.: +49 (201) 8149-268